Topic #220: Do you blog anonymously or do you blog as “yourself”? Why?

I’ve always blogged as myself, though after an unfortunate issue with a stalker in 2004, I decided to change names and change screen names – online at least. It wasn’t until at least the last three years that I began using my real name. On this blog I chose a nickname to separate myself from fandom and such.

Just because I’m using a different name doesn’t mean I’ve a different personality; it’s simply a pseudonym.

As for people who feel they have to be suppressed because of work, well, I’m a firm believer in freedom of speech and I think that it’s ridiculous to think your job should hinder your freedom of speech. As long as you’re not talking about work, co-workers or sensitive material pertaining to work, you should be able to keep a blog without having to hide who you are as long as you’re not breaking any rules.

Exceptions, of course, are if you’re working for the government at City Hall, in the military, working for the Pentagon or the President… but that is self explanatory.

In short: I won’t hide who I am, not even when I’m blogging about my mental health, because I have nothing to hide and I am not ashamed.

